Many agricultural lands are being converted into commercial centres. How does this affect the environment and the people’s lifestyle? Discuss this situation and provide suggestions to address these issues. Support your answer with specific reasons and examples.

It is often argued that people are making attempts to convert farming areas to construct markets, which can seriously impact the atmosphere and lives of people living nearby. This essay will discuss this issue in depth and will recommend some possible solutions. Firstly, the idea to commercialise rural areas might sound innovative, but its side effects on the individuals and the surroundings are a matter of concern. For instance, when people think about making markets and factories in a location which is solely for growing crops, means that there is no proper waste management and municipal system in place to support such a concept, and how will they drain the waste coming from any factory. As a result, this will pollute the water of the rivers and lakes, which are consumed by those residing in rural areas. Moreover, the smoke it will cause will pollute the air, and the whole purpose and charm of rural life, which is being close to nature, and breathing fresh air will be lost. Secondly, families living there earn by working on the farms, when these lands are destroyed, their only source of income and skill is also under threat. However, this situation needs to be considered seriously by the officials and policies should be made to resolve this concern. For instance, there should be segregation of land which can or cannot be used for commercial purposes depending on the area, lands which are away from where people live should be allowed to build factories, so it can in no way affect their lives or livelihood. Additionally, before any construction starts builders should pass the map from authorities for waste disposal, so it does not contaminate the water used for domestic purposes. To conclude, the urbanisation of remote lands may sound interesting, but it impacts those who live there. Therefore, people and authorities should take that into regard and make sure, they do not harm the urban culture and their residents.