Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel, or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

Taking a gap year to travel and gain experience is an opportunity many students take. I believe there are valid arguments both in favor and against this practice. Firstly, a gap year is a way of having a good rest after spending a long time studying because it is a chance to change an occupation rather than stay idle for a prolonged period of time. Personally, I can attest that doing a hobby is far more productive than enganging in passive entertainment not only because there may be something to show for it afterwards, but also due to the ability to start thinking differently about life in general. Secondly, a gap year is a way of testing one's hypothesis about their true calling in life, the occupation that may be chosen as a way to both please one's soul and pay one's bills. From my experience, the way one may imagine the thing are is rarely the way they really are. Therefore, the first-hand experience is invaluable. It is better to get a feel for what you strive for and change the plans for the future if necessary sooner rather than later. On the other hand, while a year may not seem like a long time, the observed accelerating pace of life and changes driven by technologies and multiplied with the positive feedback loop proves that the way the world works may change rather quickly. Talent only shines when combined with enough effort. For that reason, it is a good idea to start the work on the concrete goals as soon as possible. Undoubtedly, there is always a risk of failure. Nevertheless, I believe that any experience can be good as long as one is prepared to see it that way. Even if one realizes that the chosen occupation is not exactly what one wanted from the start, there will be an opportunity to rediscover oneself later. Although I am not able to speak about this from my own experience for now, the people I had a chance to speak with almost unanimously confim confirmed that diverse backgrounds are valued in all aspects of life. In conclusion, taking a gap year is a way to let your soul speak up and reveal what you truly want to do with your life, but it may come with a cost of missed opportunities due to the pace of life in the modern world. I believe it is possible to compromise and make the time period used for tavel and new experiences shorter, but no matter how much time you take or if you even take the time to pause at all, you should stay open-minded and ready to follow your heart when it calls.