The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books, and they should not waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The information centres are known for providing knowledge to inhabitants in the form of textbooks, people say that they should not use the latest technology such as computer programs, recorded tapes or cassettes. I disagree with this view because it is necessary to keep updating the public infrastructure also. To begin with, in this era, it is quite an essential way to upgrade libraries for many reasons. To commence with, youngsters prefer to keep themselves up-to-date with new innovations and frequently look for interesting criteria to study. Therefore, it is necessary to modify the ways of engaging the young generation towards education. For example, in the countries such as Japan bureaucracy invest a high amount of hi-tech media and other technologies to raise the standard of living of their citizens and everyone could acknowledge it. Moreover, the underprivileged children, do not have the abundance to purchase new software or DVDs. Thus, they could also have an opportunity to upgrade themselves about the new achievements around the world. For instance, there are some inhabitants, who want to pursue their careers in the IT sector, but they cannot buy expensive systems. Thus, to continue their studies they can rely on provisions given by the councils. On the other hand, there are some of the masses that believe books should be merely sources available in the library because of the following reasons. Here, to connect the young ones with the traditional ways of learning such centres are the best way. For example, because, they have been already overwhelmed with the new techniques, they have a bad impact on their mental health and eyesight. In conclusion, change plays a crucial role, and this is required to bring some variations in the recent world. If the government want to improvise and match it at the global level.