It is impossible to help all the people in the world who are in need, so governments should focus on people from their own country. To what extent do you agree of disagree?

Some argue that helping deprived nations is not necessary because helping everyone in the world is unrealistic, thus the government should only prioritize its citizens. This essay completely disagrees with this statement because being selfish can reduce economic growth and hinder innovation. To begin with, focusing on their own nation can limit the growth of their economy. This can discourage foreign investors from investing This is disadvantageous especially in developing countries because they do not have access to quality education and the job opportunities are low. However, giving aid to others can strengthen the connection between nations, which can lead to investments. For instance, the investments of the US companies in the Philippines have employed a significant number of Filipinos. Thus, being selfish will not help the economy to grow. In addition to that, isolating the country can decrease innovations. The innovations in today's world are usually a contribution from different people around the globe. For instance, the first computer was developed by an English mathematician. Through shared knowledge and ideas between other people, the computer became the greatest invention of all time. However, if one nation is not open to others, this can hinder them from adopting new and advanced technologies. This proves that being open to other nation can bring significant benefits. While focusing only on one's country can be beneficial, international collaboration contributes more to a richer economy and it can help improve technology. Thus, I believe that the disadvantages of not helping others are greater than its advantages.