Some people think that people are responsible for their happiness ,while others feel that happiness depends on other factors. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Attaining and retaining a sense of happiness is a lifelong dream for many people. However, whether it comes from within or without has been a matter of debate in recent years. In my view, everyone should take on the responsibility of their happiness. There are various reasons why some people attach great significance to external elements. Firstly, it seems logical to attribute our happy moments to our interpersonal relationships. Once people have built transparent and healthy relations with their family members, friends and neighbours, they get supported when facing the ups and downs of life, thus overcoming troubles and leading a satisfying life. Secondly, our family conditions and socio-economic background also play a big part. If someone is born into an impoverished family or broken home, for instance, their chances of feeling happy decline dramatically. Given these arguments, it is hardly surprising to see so many people feel traumatized not because of their own fault. I, however, would place utmost importance on our individual choices as far as contentment is concerned. Even though there are many people who have outside sources of emotional support, due to their religious and gender-related issues, they cannot achieve inner peace and personal satisfaction. Some, on the other hand, struggle to interact and bond with their fellow counterparts, but they do not allow their bad social skills and poor relationships to interfere with their feelings. Furthermore, learning “ happiness skills”, including but not limited to meditation, generosity, gratitude and mindfulness often enables people to feel content, even if they live in a perpetual state of poverty. Clearly, it is we who are accountable for our emotions. In conclusion, though several outside factors contribute greatly to how people feel, their sense of happiness is predominantly determined by their own actions. It is always much better to shoulder the responsibility as opposed to delegating it to others.