Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think is a positive or negative.

Opinions are divided on whether countries are becoming more and more similar is beneficial or harmful. As far as many people can buy products they need in any place, I believe while many people benefit, it is also harmful to some individuals and businesses. Most products are much easier to buy, which is obviously an advantage for consumers in terms of savings in both money and time. Firstly, with regards to the former, goods are available in a lot of places, even online shops, creating more chances for customers to compare and choose products at lower prices. Secondly, as for saving time, because people can shop certain kinds of things anywhere, there is no need to travel to a certain town or local centre to spend time for buying special items. For these reasons, majorities benefit from globalization. However, the growth of the worldwide business trend is not welcome news for anyone involved in the local business or small physical business. Evidence for this can be seen in the fact that it is difficult for them to compete with worldwide chain companies. As it is easier for big companies to sell certain stuff all over the world because their shops have been opened widely already. The consequence of this is that local retailers are losing the advantages that they had before, struggling to survive, and many have gone bankrupt. Therefore, the trend of worldwide businesses is an unwelcome development for local sectors. In conclusion, the public can pursue the brands they need anywhere, and countries are becoming more and more similar is beneficial for most consumers. However, it is a negative development for local retailers and their businesses.