Countries are becoming mor and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Opinions are divided on whether countries are becoming more and more similar is beneficial or harmful. As far as many people can buy products they need in any place, I believe many people benefit; at the same time, it is also harmful to some individuals and businesses. Most products are much easier to buy today, which is obviously an advantage for consumers in terms of savings in both money and time. Firstly, with regards to the former, goods are available in any place, creating more chances for customers to compare and choose, thus, buying products at lower prices. Secondly, as for saving time, because people can shop certain kinds of things anywhere, there is no need to travel to a certain town or local centre to spend time for buying special items. For these reasons, majorities benefit from globalization. However, the growth of the worldwide business trend is not welcome news for anyone involved in the local business or small physical business. Evidence for this can be seen in the fact that it is difficult for them to compete with worldwide chain companies. Because of the strong finance and market strategy, it is easier for big companies to sell products all over the world. For example, their shops have been opened widely already. Consequently, local retailers are losing the advantages that they had before, struggling to survive, and many have gone bankrupt. Therefore, the trend of worldwide businesses is an unwelcome development for local sectors. In conclusion, the public can pursue the brands they need anywhere, and countries are becoming more and more similar is beneficial for most consumers. However, it is a negative development for local retailers and their businesses.