The news about violent crimes may frighten people or, on contrary, encourage them to commit a crime. Therefore, some believe that these types of news should not be reported in newspapers or on TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people opine that news related to serious crimes ought not to be covered in the media. I partly agree with this opinion because I admit that these news may terrify viewers or readers and stimulate them to commit an offence while I also accept that if they are broadcast, they would equip people with preventative measures as well as save their lives in urgent and dangerous cases. On the one hand, the main reason why I do believe that the news about cruel crimes are likely to provoke people to commit crimes is because potential criminals may easily imitate the detailed description of the crime in the news. More specifically, crime news typically illustrate chronologically the ways criminals took for their steal, burglary and even murder; and the investigation process that police officers and detectives followed to seek out evidences. Accordingly, would-be criminals may consider these illustrations as lessons that would help them deal with their future offences without leaving any proof. Additionally, I also think that excessive exposure to the media coverage of violent crimes may accumulate citizens’ insecurity and agitation. This kind of news would make people lose confidence in government’s credibility in regulating crime rates and ensuring a safe community. On the other hand, there are still some justifications why I hold a belief that the news about despicable crimes should still be broadcast in the media. Firstly, the breaking news related to wanted criminals or a suspect of a homicide could act as a well-informed announcement for people to provide themselves with better preventative measures. For instance, the news about a thief and murder which has just occurred with the unknown offender is disseminated to inhabitants, they would be straightaway reinforcing their houses’ security by meticulously locking all the doors and windows or installing CCTVs in every room. Furthermore, updated news about the places where the suspect is hiding also help residents to evacuate quickly from the high-risky area, which is more likely to keep their lives safe. In conclusion, I agree that serious crime news was given widespread coverage despite its possibility of encouraging people to commit crimes and making them feel lack of security. This is because the news can be served as an up-to-date pronouncement for people to cautiously protect themselves from potential dangers rather than only a terrifying description of crime scenes. Given this situation, producers of the news are recommended to modify the contents of the news so that it becomes more approachable.