Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foregin country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Ongoing debates regarding purposes of learning foreign languages evolve into two opposite stands recently. I firmly back up the proposition that acquiring a non-native language is beneficial in many aspects rather than taking tourism or employment as sole intention. On the one hand, the rapid development of globalization enhances the necessity placed on individual ability of speaking a foreign language. Firstly, intense personnel exchanges are increasingly frequent in our daily life, which emphasizes the oral skills of another language. Secondly, thanks to a dramatic innovation on cyber-technology, citizens are hearing information globally, therefore, a bilingual speaker takes advantages on first-hand and cutting-edge news. What's more, the concept of Earth Village, with great influence in developing countries, is reshaping the public value as one who is capable to communicate in other language likely be more outstanding than solely language speakers. On the another hand, many people learn a foreign language with attempts to explore another civilization. As an external practice, a foreign language actually carries its inner core as a different culture, that is why language learning usually serves as a cornerstone for people who bears curiosity on the rest of the world. Japanese culture, for instance, emerging as a famous one for its cuisine and cartoons, spurs a great host of young generation to learn Japanese over decades. Moreover, indeed, it is understandable that many people treat tourism and employment as only two engines for foreign language learning since these two cases are mentioned the most times in our surroundings. Also, with the amplification of needs to work and travel abroad, further opposite arguments may can not be established to deny the motivative power of aforementioned two. However, it is still too subjective and empirical to restrict the causes only onto such two and ignore other elements. In a conclusion, I strongly stand that there are various driving forces for the public to acquire a foreign language but not only out of working and travelling intentions.