Some children spend hours every day on their Smartphone. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Technology has taken a toll on everyday life considering the lives of youth are mainly dependent on excessively using gadgets. The crucial contributors to children spending hours on their smartphones are online studies and addictive games. Analysing I believe this is a negative development as it adversely affects the fitness of youngsters as well as distracts them from the real goal. To begin with, students have been utilising their precious time on mobile phones because schools are now diverting the learning pattern to online platforms despite books. During the pandemic, most academies opted to deliver classes digitally and children were supposed to complete the assignments from their gadgets, which eventually moved the trend towards the usage of gadgets and it is certainly ever ending. Therefore, young ones are more attracted towards these technologies as it is the basis of knowledge in the present era. However, it is vital to study but not at the cost of a child's well-being. Conversely, youth is getting addicted to spending hours opposite the screens, which is causing problems like weak eyesight and obesity. In Canada, on average 75% of schoolers wear visionary eyeglasses and they are developing various problems related to their vision. Consequently, sitting is involved when accessing the desktop to study which is for a longer duration, as a result, less body movement has led to an increase in fat percentage. Thus, technology is controlling the overall growth of the young generation, also, it will lead to disastrous consequences in future particularly in concern with health. In conclusion, youth has been developing a habit to use technology for the benefit of gaining knowledge, since, the education system is getting more and more involved in online courses. Although this trend is ever-growing, it is already causing numerous health issues in pupils. If not restricted at present, it will lead to many problems in the upcoming years.