The best way to solve environmental problems would be for the current generation to accept a simpler way of life for the sake of the next generation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I am of the personal belief that the most effective method of solving environmental problems should be the acceptance by the present generation of a simpler life for the future. Basically, I believe that since fossil fuels such as natural gas, oil, and coal are used to generate electricity for industry and private consumption, industries should be encouraged to use sustainable green energy, and individuals should be greener by controlling energy use in the home and avoiding products that contain volatile organic compounds or other air pollutants. This I suppose, can be best exemplified by the fact that in research carried out by the University of Shahid Beheshti in the city of Tehran in 2007 on renewable energy, it was observed that over 50% of industries invested in renewable energy from solar, wind, or water. Whatsmore, it has been said that the number of cars on the road should be limited by increasing fuel taxes, improving public transport and creating traffic-free zones in city centres, which play a major role in polluting the environment through the burning of fossil fuels, and I cannot but agree with such an opinion, as best illustrated by an article written in the Government Gazette in which it was stated that 42% of residents use public transport rather than drive and also take fewer flights abroad for their holidays. Another point to be considered is the fact that people would boycott products from companies known to pollute, as in the case of example according to Dr John Kersey of Harvard University, many people prefer to choose products with less packaging and avoid buying food in non-biodegradable plastic packaging. Finally, I would like to conclude by saying that, it is the responsibility of the current generation to heed these potentially dire warnings. People in the past were either intentionally or unintentionally unaware of the consequences of their actions but individuals today cannot make such excuses. For example, the rapidly melting polar ice caps are directly affecting the natural habitats of animals around the world, and some climate scientists believe that an increase in natural disasters is also linked to this and other man-made changes to the ecosystem. Based on the aforementioned argument, I must reiterate that I believe that, choosing to live a simpler life in order to save the environment for future generations is the best way to significantly reduce the impact on the environment and help the next generations to live in this world without environmental problems.