In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that the extended lifespan of people in many states can lead to heavy financial and health issues for the governments of these countries. Although there are downsides, this essay represents that the advantages are stronger as elderly citizens tend to commit fewer crimes than adolescents, carry out their job responsibilities more effectively due to their working experience and do not orchestrate some meetings against the current authorities. The main advantage of the phenomenon that residents are now living longer than ever before is that pensioners completely obey the legislation in the vast bulk of cases and hardly ever violate the law. In other words, this social group is so concerned about their health problems, families and their sources of likelihood that they are not physically and mentally able to break the regulation. Furthermore, local authorities of countries with an overwhelming amount of elderly people do not need to waste a decent sum of money on prisons and courts, which can lead this region to economic prosperity. The prime example can be Switzerland, where the proportion of people in their 60 -ies and 70 -ies is more than half of the whole population. This state captures the topmost positions in various rankings devoted to safety and order as locals are passionate about their calm lives, as well as, they do not possess enough time, courage and strength to execute some illegal activities. Moreover, occasionally a pensioner owns the vital knowledge of variable processes and their subtleties due to his working experience. Following this, senior citizens can boost the economy of their country as they pursue their occupation duties promptly and efficiently. Furthermore, this social group does not require any training to commence their jobs, unlike university graduates. Lastly, citizens in their 60 -ies and 70 -ies possess quite conventional and calm political views; thereby they do not orchestrate any meetings and events against the officials of their countries. Nevertheless, elderly people usually pose a heavy burden on a state`s healthcare system as they truly suffer from variable diseases more than the younger generation. For instance, Japanese government invests a great amount of money in local hospitals and clinics since this nation embodies a large number of elderly people, who require medical help. Moreover, it is flawlessly unfeasible to introduce vital innovations and technologies to a region with many pensioners, as they are not able to exploit them without special apprenticeships. To conclude, I insist that a large percentage of senior residents in any nation trumps its downsides. People in their 60 -ies and 70 -ies lead healthy lifestyles, portray bright working attainments and do not have any detrimental effect on the society`s existence. These merits overwhelm any potential disadvantages of a significant amount of elderly people in any nation.