In some counntries, the cost of living is rapidly increasing. What do you think may be the reasons for this? What effects might this have on society?

In the last decade, there has been a tremendous increase in the cost of living in the majority of places. From my perspective, this could result from inflation and increased money supply from the wealthy citizens of countries. This essay will outline the reasons for increasing living costs and the possible outcomes of it. To begin, the primary reason behind the increasing living cost is inflation. Amidst the Russia-Ukraine war in 2022, for instance, oil and gas prices went up by a big margin because, Russia is a big supplier of oil and gas to the world. Due to the war, all the nations boycotted purchasing them from Russia and decided to rely on other oil-producing countries which sold them for double the price to make a profit. What is more, the standard of living is gradually upscaling, which means the government is charging hefty taxes on the citizens. This being the case, countries, such as Switzerland and Norway, are well-maintained and picturesque. It is not unreasonable that the cost of living is very high as they need to refurbish and provide better opportunities for locals and tourists. The effects of this unfavourable situation would be that people of developing countries will be understandably concerned to go abroad for education or job-related purposes as they will not be able to meet up to the living cost due to the disparity in the currency of their country compared to the one they applied for. Moreover, homeless and less fortunate folks will be the worst hit as they will drown further in debt. To conclude from the aforementioned discussion, inflation is the most viable cause of the rapid increase in living costs, whereas well-off citizens of the nation are also partly responsible.