Some people believe that it is wrong to keep animals in zoos, while others think that zoos are important for education and conservation. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, many activists believe that keeping animals captive in cages is cruel, on the contrary, there is the argument that animals in zoos are for teaching and preservation purposes. From my perspective, I am of the fierce belief of the former statement. In this essay, I will discuss both views and elaborate on why captivating animals is inhumane. After years of study, scientists are able to prove that animals that spend their lives in zoos are either depressed or suffer from other serious mental illnesses. There is no denying the fact that animals are emotional beings, they experience pain and suffering that is very similar to humans. Recently, in the Sea World, in Canada, the case of a blue large whale surfaced where it was reported that the whale is mentally unfit because it has spent all its life circling in a swimming pool. The lifelong isolation and frustration of being stuck in a small space are physically and mentally challenging for all creatures. Despite much research and statistical data against zoos, many are in favour of their personal benefits as they are able to see exotic animals in a city. Zoos are a recreational place for kids and adults, it educates them about different animal species and their special traits; therefore, many people believe that should exist. Moreover, they are inconsiderate of animals ' feelings and their well-being. Some may also argue that it is for the preservation of the animal species as they are being taken care of, by the zookeepers. I personally believe that zoos are a prison for animals. It limits their activity, and social outreach, and hinders their natural instinct of hunting. Most animals do not need protection from humans; however, I do agree that endangered species should be kept under strict observation by scientists. To conclude from the aforementioned discussion, although, many agree that zoos are important for educational and conservative reasons. From my perspective, keeping animals confined is merciless as it adversely affects their overall health.