Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam’’ How true do you think this statement is? What are measures can the government take to discourage people from using their cars?

In the last thirty years, a number of buying private cars has increased, which has become a main reason for traffic in most of the cities in the whole world. I totally agree with the statement because it is happening in each and every country. I will discuss the essential steps that can be taken by the authorities to overcome this problem. There are various reasons why I believe that traffic jams have been increasing day by day. Firstly, I was living in Delhi, which is one of the largest populated cities in India.Most of the people there are working, so they are eager to save their time by buying their own vehicles. They know travelling by bus or any other public transportation is not providing the services they need to save time because the timings are not suitable for a working person. They just cannot wait half an hour for the bus to reach a 20-minute destination.For all these reasons push them to get their own vehicles. For example, when I was living there I was having so many issues with transportation and I bought my own scooter to go to work or any other place at a time. There are multifarious actions that the government can take to solve this issue.The first and foremost solution is that the Local authority should provide a better public vehicle to the citizens of the country, such as good bus timings.Buses should be available after 2-5 minutes so it will help the masses to save their time by not waiting too long for the buses. As a result, folks will prefer to take buses instead of buying their own cars. Moreover, the government should arrange some programs to educate the community about the environmental pollution which is increasing because of car fuel. If people know about these kinds of things it will be helpful to reduce the number of private cars, bikes and scooters on the road. Thirdly, national leaders should implement a law that forces people to use cars by their even or odd number plates on days specified by Authorities. In conclusion, Although there are various causes behind the traffic jams, some important measures can be applied by the government to reduce the number of private vehicles on the road.