Children are taught to push themselves to be better than their classmates rather than to work together for everyone's profit. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Most parents teach their children to outperform others, and some schools even use grades to judge their children. Although there are some benefits, such as the chance to study at a top university. However, this also has obvious disadvantages. The child may become an egoist, has no sense of cooperation, and is not accepted by the team. On the one hand, one of the main benefits of making students strive to be the best is that they can exchange their hard work for excellent grades. This can lead to better educational resources, giving them a better chance of entering top universities for further study. Most parents still believe that scoring higher than the other side will give their children that opportunity and boost their confidence. Having better grades means having priority for subjects and jobs. On the other hand, due to the high expectations of parents for those children with good grades and the great pressure from teachers, today's students spend most of their time studying, and they have no time to do other things they might want to do. For example, they will refuse to go out with their classmates on weekends or hold outings in the class and will choose to go to remedial classes or study at home. This makes them almost out of group life, and their personalities can become withdrawn and quiet. No one wants to communicate with them, and in team missions, probably no one wants to invite them to join the team. As a result, these students lose their friends and the ability to work together. In conclusion, it is beneficial to motivate students to strive for excellence in their studies. However, they need to understand that competing alone won't work every time. They need to work as a team with everyone else for everyone's benefit.