Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting the usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Instead of traditional medicine, more people are opting for alternative medicines and treatments to tackle their health issues. I believe this is a negative development, detrimental to both public health and the cause of modern medicine. In the first place, unorthodox medicine is likely to jeopardize public health. Firstly, resorting to alternative practices can bring forth serious health risks. This is because they are often ancient or anecdotal practices, which lack sufficient scientific base. In the worst case, not only will patients not be healed, but they will also be left with complications and risks of chronic disease. Secondly, it can lead to delaying the perfect timing of treatment. In case of an emergency, the best strategy is to call an ambulance and let professionals perform first-aid for the patient while resorting to unorthodox treatment could put one’s life in danger in this scenario. In addition, this trend is negative for the development and market order of modern medicine. Primarily, there are some profit-driven unqualified practitioners of alternative medicine who leverage it as a lucrative business. For these unethical people, old people are normally vulnerable targets who can easily fall for their deceptive marketing content. For example, they can constantly take advantage of elder patients by selling them the ‘latest’ medicine and supplement which would probably fail the tests of regulatory agencies. Additionally, this sprawling trendy option can lead to market disorder. Since these practices are usually not performed in certified medical facilities, public health authorities can exert hardly any control over them. In conclusion, I reckon this is a risky trend. If the vast majority begins to opt for alternative medicine and treatment, there will be a series of negative consequences, which can deteriorate public health and ultimately undermine the healthy development of modern medicine.