In some developing countries, people prefer to invest their money in businesses outside their own country. What are the reasons for this? What can governments do to change this trend? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

It is an undeniable fact that for a business to be successful, the income must be greater than the outgoings. Thus, some people believe in investing in international businesses rather than supporting local ones. This essay will discuss this viewpoint and what can be done to change it. A profitable business is a successful business. In order to increase profits, it can be prudent to invest in international companies. For example, wealthy investors from India may choose to invest in a company selling lunchboxes in the UK due to the selling price. The same lunchbox that can be sold for Rs. 250 in India is sold for £10 in the UK, making it a four-fold increase in profits. If they chose only to invest in local markets, it would take longer to reach the same profit margin, if at all. However, investing in local businesses has a knock-on effect which is beneficial to the country, thus the government has a role to encourage angel investors to keep their money in circulation in their own country. For instance, the government of India started an initiative called "Made in India " to endorse local companies, encouraging the rich to invest at home. Without changes like this, the number of jobs available to the community would remain low, keeping many in poverty. To conclude, the main reason for investing internationally can be overturned by the government, thus I believe they should use their power to increase profits in their own countries, creating jobs and helping the economy.