Thanks to globalization societies are becoming more and more alike. Some people fear that globalization will inevitably lead to the total loss of cultural identity. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Globalization communities are increasing which are broadening equality for people around the world, but some people think that an era might lead to the total loss of cultural identity. In my point of view, I agree that local culture might inevitably disappear in the future because it is not interesting anymore and not suitable in some circumstances. Each globalization society urged people to speak one language so they might communicate effectively, for instance, United Nations use English or French. Moreover, people will think that English is the most important and attractive language to be learned. In contrast, the local language is less attractive and less useful, for example, In Indonesia, there was the Betawi language 20 years ago but now, it was disappeared. On the other hand, the tradition that has been passed from generation to generation might disappear. Although globalization opens new opportunities for jobs and studies abroad, people are afraid that new cultures will not be suitable to their ancestor’s beliefs. For example, my grandparents came from China and he came to Indonesia to build his own business. He has a Chinese ritual to eat a rice cake together with the whole family in the winter. But now, there is no winter season in Indonesia, so that tradition is not held here. Therefore, if there is a family moves abroad because of an economic motif, their previous cultural tradition might be forgotten. To conclude, despite the benefits of globalization for societies, it might lead to the total loss of cultural identity because the previous tradition is not relevant and language is not a part of their identity anymore.