In many countries, people wear more western-style clothes (suits and jeans) than their traditional clothes. What is the reason for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

In many parts of the globe, the majority of society is more adores Western outfits, and they prefer wearing them, instead of their local clothes. The influence of Western culture is a major motive behind this trend. Personally, I see it as a disadvantage since brings many consequences which will be discussed in subsequent paragraphs. Nowadays, it is undeniable that the hegemony of Western in popular cultures in the last several decades, such as movies and music, has massively rendered the way people dress up. For example, famous celebrities have become role models for many teenagers who tend to imitate many things such as outfits. Not to mention that many well-known fashion brands utilize those celebrities as their ambassadors. Irrespective of that, because the companies are the benchmark of trending clothes, many local firms try to produce the same outputs. As a result, traditional attires are less in the market and become more unpopular. Despite the aforementioned backdrop, it can be seen as a development setback. First and foremost, wearing more Western-style clothes rather than local ones will erode the sense of local pride. For instance, the young generation will forget their grassroots and decrease nationalism. Moreover, if communities wore similar outfits, it would decline traditional identities. Therefore, there is no more authenticity in the culture. To sum up, the intervention of globalisation renders huge influences in terms of fashion due to the popularity of Western superstars. This phenomenon impacts how young people choose to wear jeans and suits, rather than their local ones. I believe that this is a negative development since it threatens traditional uniqueness.