In number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In several countries, there is a conflicting view that it is essential to spend large sums of money on building new railway lines for high-speed trains between cities rather than improving existing public transport. I believe in the latter view because it may benefit more people. Constructing new railway lines for high-speed trains can minimize the trip duration between cities. For instance, because a new fast train that will connect Jakarta and Bandung has 300 km/hour in its velocity, the Jakarta-Bandung journey will be just 1 hour long. This is so different from the old train or bus transportation, which usually takes 3-4 hours. The shorter trip time can probably make many people in Jakarta or Bandung visit each other for business or tourism agenda. As a result, the economic activities can be shifted from Jakarta, the most metropolitan city, to Bandung. However, the ticket for high-speed trains may be pricey, so many people may reconsider taking this trip frequently. Thus, the objective of building new railway lines cannot be maximal. Spending money on upgrading existing public transport may result in the reduction of traffic jams on the road. Since many people may prefer to get public transport over their car or motorcycle, the number of vehicles on the street will decrease. As a result, the pollution rate in the city can probably go down, which is beneficial for more people ’s health. Another result is that good conditions will also affect people's stress levels since they do not need to face exhausting traffic. Because of these benefits, I think improving public transportation can benefit more people than constructing the new railways that just some people could use. In conclusion, while some people believe it is essential to construct new railway lines for high-speed trains, I agree with others who think improving existing public transport can benefit more people related to their health and stress levels because of the reduction of traffic jams in the road.