Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals are of the school of thought that the use of advertisement is highly beneficial in making people purchase goods and services however, others feel that this approach has become popular and it's no more effective. This issue is not entirely straight forward and this essay will discuss both views and give a concluding opinion. On the one hand, individuals believe that people no longer pay attention to advertising because there is more to attracting customers to buy a product than just publicity, people are now interested in the quality of the products and how well they can serve the purpose for which it is bought. Secondly, the economy of countries doesn't encourage binge shopping no matter how much the item is publicized. Due to inflation and a decrease in the value of,money people tend to purchase only basic items. For example, the daily advertisement of a house heater in Nigeria has not persuaded a large number of people to purchase this item. On the other hand, I believe advertising persuades people in buying goods because individuals would be able to see the goods being advertised and appreciate their physical characteristics therefore encouraging them to buy them. Also, advertisement creates awareness of a particular product and all the benefits that could be obtained from it and this could entice people to buy these products. In conclusion, I believe advertising goods and services is important because it creates awareness and boosts the morale of people to purchase the advertised products however, diverse and fascinating methods should be used to attract the public attention.