Stress is now a major problem in many countries around the world. What are some of the factors in modern society that cause this stress, and how can we reduce it?

Nowadays, stress has become a major risk factor for many health-related issues. While some are able to cope with it effectively, others, however, suffer from dire physical and mental consequences. In this essay, I will discuss the factors leading to a stressful lifestyle and the ways to manage it. Certain features of modern society, like extended work hours and highly competitive exams are the leading causes of stress. While, earlier, office time used to end at 5 pm, these days the employees are contactable 24/7 due to which, they are prone to work-related complexities throughout their day. If this continues to happen, a significant number of workers will be at high risk of a mental breakdown due to unlimited pressure with no possibility to escape. Moreover, the percentage of students that are constantly under the stress of exams to get into good colleges is on the rise. In Kota, the educational hub of India, three students killed themselves because they were unable to secure a seat in their dream colleges. The higher the expectation of society from an individual, the higher the amount of tightness people will feel around them. With scientifically proven methods, we can tackle this issue and live a healthy life. To begin, exposing oneself to sunlight for at least a few hours every week has shown good results in increasing serotonin, a happy hormone, in our body. Going outside for a picnic, or a walk in the sun is a great way to keep yourself fit and moving without any worries. What is more, creating boundaries at work, when it comes to explicitly asserting that you can only be available during your working hours for personal growth. In Switzerland, the government understood what job-related exhaustion was doing to the citizens, hence, they decided to put a ban on asking employees anything work-related past 6 pm and additionally, reduced the working hours overall. To conclude the aforementioned discussion, while life-related stress is inevitable, with comprehensive strategies and flexible work policies we can combat it to a level, it will not hinder our personal and professional growth.