Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well.

As an introduction, due to the rising level of competition for University education, many children nowadays spend a busy life schedule in order to balance their studies and leisure activities. A fair amount of people suggests that teenager should participate in some unpaid community-based activities during their free time, and I strongly agree with the idea as it is paramount in developing their social skills and personality. Embark, students will be benefited in various ways by participating in social works whenever they are free. Firstly, such activities are important in socialising and personality development, which are qualities that lack in children nowadays. For example, many schools recently arranged several social service programs with the involvement of a large number of high-ranking professionals to develop such attitudes in students. Secondly, involvement in these kinds of activities is important in their future Carrier guidance and in building their personal contacts and skills. So, these benefits can be used to select their future studies and categories of employment. In contrast, many drawbacks are absorbed by spending time on community creative activities. To begin with, currently, the competition for exams in schools are getting increased. Therefore, many teenagers allocate their time to after-school tuition classes instead of other leisure things. It means that they do not get enough time for such work. Not only that, but also students earn money for their University education and for study materials by doing part- time jobs during their after-school hours. For instance, a study done at Harvard University concluded that 60% of college students in the USA are doing part- time jobs. This also will invariably lead to poor availability of time for community programmes. In conclusion, although there are some positive and negative impacts of teenagers participating in social services, in my opinion, I believe that it is a positive point for their future.