Global warming is one of the biggest threats human face in the 21st century and sea levels are continuing to rise at alarming rates. What problems are associated with this and what are some possible solutions.

Global warming has been a devastating problem around the world. It is said to cater most of the budget of the government in order to lessen the effects as well as prevent further occurrence of it. There are various causes and ways to solve this issue. One of the main causes of global warming is the deforestation. Nowadays, companies are cutting trees as if there is no tomorrow just for their own gains. This results in frequent flooding and landslides as there are no more trees that could hold the soil. In the Philippines, for instance, there are already recurrent floodings even with just a few rainfalls because of the lack or almost bald forests that could supposedly help in preventing it. Another cause is man-made pollution. The smoke from our cars, aeroplanes, and cigarettes is considered pollutants that harm our environment. If people won't stop burning things, the ozone layer will be destroyed which is very detrimental to our health that could lead to different diseases like skin cancer. Just like in New Zealand, the ozone layer is already broken thus giving people a very irritating heat from the sun that could easily cause sunburn. There are solutions to this problem. Firstly, people should plant more trees rather than cutting them. Trees will not just help us from flooding but will provide fresh air as well as shade from the heat of the sun. Secondly, the government should impose more rules and instil harsh punishments for those who are trying to destroy the environment. To illustrate, in Singapore, people will have heavy fines if they are caught throwing any rubbish on the street. In this way, people will be disciplined to act accordingly and help protect mother nature. To recapitulate, global warming has always been an issue among all nations. We, humans are the main reason why it is happening. Because of our selfish acts, nature is suffering. However, there are also solutions like planting more trees and for the government to adopt some rules as well as heavy punishments for the offenders.