Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extend do you agree?

It is true that social media has become a crucial part of many people's lives, especially those of the younger generation who grew up sharing their private life on online platforms such as Instagram or Facebook. There’s criticism from different groups of people since it affects young adult’s mental health. I agree that the negative effects of using those online sites overweigh the advantages. Firstly, the modern world has become more superficial and money-oriented than it has ever been before. Young adults grew up with social media and the constant pressure of showing their wealth and comparing themselves to others. For example, they post pictures of new clothes and fancy holiday destinations. The popularity of social media has also transformed the society we live in. 15 years ago most people would have gone to a shop and simply buy what’s available or visit a travel agency to decide on their next adventure, whereas nowadays most people lack the ability to decide for themselves, and instead choose to do and buy what’s widely accepted in society. Young adults, especially, would rather buy a jacket they’ve seen on their favourite Instagram account than one they found elsewhere. Besides the disadvantages of social networking sites, there are a few positive sides to it. It is beneficial using a page like Facebook to stay in contact with family and friends when living or travelling overseas. Sharing pictures and stories about their life away makes people feel like they are close to their loved ones. Furthermore, it saves time since pictures only have to be shared and commented on once for everyone to see. Another positive example of using social media would be for a business. In particular small businesses can place relatively cheap and target-focused advertisements. The comments function on most platforms enables users to share their opinion, which allows a business to amend their service based on customer needs and create a better value for society. In conclusion, I think that social media has become a large part of our lives and it negatively impacts people's mental health and ability to judge for themselves, which is why I think that the disadvantages overweigh. However, there are a few advantages like sharing experiences with close people when away from home.