Innovation is often driven by the pursuit of profit and economic growth. However, some argue that it should prioritize addressing social and environmental issues. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is argued that the growth of the economy and more profits are the forces behind innovation, while others opine that social and environmental concerns should be prioritized. This essay will discuss both perspectives, before concluding with a balanced view. On the one hand, the advocates who consider the economic development and increased benefits behind innovation argue that the pursuit of profit is essential for trade growth, as entrepreneurs are investing enormous amounts of money on technologies to come up with more innovative products or services, which ultimately lead to the emergence of innovative business industry. For instance, several nations around the world are providing financial support to the business industries in the form of loans, for introducing more innovative products in the market for the development of the economy. Apart from this, the economic growth led to an increased standard of living, a profit-driven society and more job opportunities. All these factors are essential for ensuring the sustainable development of the economy. On the other hand, the proponents of social and ecological issues favour that innovation should be driven when businesses adopt a holistic approach and begin to follow the environment-friendly activities, by regulating the use of sustainable technologies for bringing innovation. For example, with the advancement of technology, a few companies around the globe are adopting eco-friendly products and practices from an innovative society. Additionally, prioritising social and environmental issues can lead to building more trust with consumers, good reputation and long-term value. In conclusion, while economic development and profits are the forces behind innovation, I believe that prioritising social and environmental issues is more prominent for having a developed and sustainable society.