People have different views about whether animal testing for medical research is necessary or not. From my perspective, using animals to research medicine for humans is terrible.

People have different views about whether animal testing for medical research is necessary or not. From my perspective, using animals to research medicine for humans is terrible. The main reason why some people appreciate animal testing to conduct medical research is that animal testing has contributed to many cures and saved lives. Nearly every medical breakthrough in the last hundred years has actually resulted directly from studies using animals. For example, the experiment to remove the pancreas of a dog directly led to the discovery of insulin, which is vital to saving the lives of diabetics. Moreover, we can not launch a new medicine before proving it is not harmful to humans and laboratory mice are a suitable research subject because they and humans have biological similarities. Despite the above-mentioned advantages, in my opinion, animal testing is cruel and unacceptable. I believe that the lives of every creature are precious and humans have no right to torture them for our own benefit. Governments should invest in developing alternative methods that can replace the implementation of research on animals when doing medical studies. For example, a software program can be developed to model the human immune system and new medicines can be implemented on software instead of using animals. Hereby, there will be no more animals that have to endure medical tests and society can still benefit from medical development. In conclusion, although using animals in medical research has achieved many benefits for humans, it is still so cruel and should be stopped