Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by individuals and by governments to solve this problem?

The excessive use of plastic in the daily lives of individuals is damaging to the environment. In this essay, I will explain the negative impact of plastic products on species, and I will offer solutions for customers and for regulatory bodies. Materials made out of plastic can easily end up in the ocean, which can harm the fish. This is because when the fish ingest the dangerous plastic packaging, it gets incorporated into their cellular makeup, which leads to the premature demise of the wildlife. If the fish's population decreases significantly then it has an impact on the rest of the food chain, which includes humans. For example, if the number of tuna decreases then it will be unavailable for consumption and the benefit of eating tuna will be lost. Therefore, excessive waste can not only impact nature but, it can also affect buyers. In order to solve this issue, the government and customers have to work together to reduce the plastic pollution that is produced. First of all, authorities can impose a heavy tax on plastic -made goods thereby deterring companies from making these items. Secondly, buyers can use ecologically friendly materials while shopping. For instance, consumers can use reusable bags which will prevent further plastic bag production. These actions can limit the harmful items which are made, thereby limiting the damage to the environment. In conclusion, plastic materials provide convenience to customers, but at a cost to the environment, in the form of the extinction of certain species in the food chain. To combat this, the government needs to introduce financial penalties for increased production of plastic products and shoppers need to utilise environmentally friendly habits, such as using paper bags, to prevent the destruction of nature.