Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others believe those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit. Discus both view?

Today's world is witnessing a boom in real estate and infrastructure. This sparked a discussion on whether the design of newly constructed buildings in large urban areas should be handled by the governments or the individuals financing the buildings. This essay will discuss both perspectives outlining the reasons supporting each view. Individuals spending money on new building construction should be given full control of designing the building. With this control, they will be able to create unique building structures based on their requirements. For instance, the Empire State Building owner was able to create such a world-renowned building with a unique structure, because of the flexibility given by the government officials from the beginning of the construction of the building. This kind of free control will help architects to use their imagination and create world-famous infrastructure. Therefore, it is necessary to give a free hand to building financers to create their own designs. There are others who believe that governments should assume the responsibility of designing newly constructed buildings. Because, government officials will plan the design, especially the exit points based on the rules set by the Fire safety department, which may not be considered by the building owners. For example, a recent fire accident which happened in one of the famous buildings in Boston City was because of the negligence of the building architects who replaced fire exit points with a water fountain. This kind of recklessness can be avoided, if government bodies take part in the design stage of a building construction. Clearly, governments should take control of building planning, especially in large urban areas. In conclusion, there are those who believe that a free hand should be given to individuals financing the infrastructure to create unique designs, while there are others who believe that the governments should take care of building planning in large cities to ensure the design is made as per the safety norms.