Some high school students work part-time in addition to going to school. What are the advantages and disadvantages of high school students having part-time jobs? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Part-time employment while pursuing high school education is increasingly becoming more popular. Many students seek employment to compete with the rise in living expenses; however, earning a salary seems to be a secondary goal, with gaining crucial work experience and working on real-world applications as the primary target. Many believe this provides vital learning opportunities outside the traditional education system, which leads to a student being more employable right out of school. This essay aims to provide the merits and demerits of the aforementioned subject. The main argument against having part-time employment, that it makes a student's daily schedule a lot more hectic with balancing personal, educational, and professional life. This leads to a lack of time and resources to focus on study, as the main point of a high school education is to prepare individuals for college. Furthermore, a tight schedule can easily lead to burnout, which can cause a feeling of exhaustion, loss of focus, and shifting priorities. Problems like these pose a serious threat to a student's grades, GPA, and in-depth understanding of the curriculum. This directly affects college and higher studies applications, causing a bright career to derail. Conversely, part-time work provides some incredible learning opportunities and gives students a way to apply their learned knowledge in real-world applications. Furthermore, it assists them in becoming more employable, provides a sense of accomplishment, and offers a path towards becoming a more responsible person. The extra-curricular activities look good on a resume, thus strengthening a higher study application. Gaining part-time work experience can help students clarify their career goals. This can be especially beneficial for students who are doubtful and confused about their career and future goals. In conclusion, it is vital to know an individual's limits, and one should strive to balance both professional and academic life in a way that doesn't hinder progress. Pursuing work experience should not come at a cost of poor academics, and vice versa.