Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Engineering and Medicine constitute tough specialities to study in school, accounting for a longer stay in school and a great amount of effort required to properly excel in the course. After a long stay in school, one deserves a good-paying job to make up for all the years of hardship. In this essay, I will explain why doctors and engineers should work in their country of training and any other country of choice while supporting the latter. Graduates in these fields should be mandated to work in their country to help in the development of the country. Their input will help in the growth and economy of the country. For instance, a civil engineer working in his country to help in the construction of good roads and a doctor making groundbreaking discoveries in the cure of a particular epidemic disease in the country. This development will attract investors into the country, increasing the country ’s GDP while also earning a good salary for their work. Thus, the more work they do for the country, the greater the country ’s development and their salaries too. Whereas, in as much as their input in the country helps with the development I believe they should be allowed to work in the country of their choosing to gain more knowledge and earn a better salary. This will enable them to adequately provide for their families. For example, the salary a doctor or an engineer earns in the US is three times higher than that which is paid in Nigeria. Through this means, the person is exposed while making a living. Therefore, more exposure leads to better pay outside the country of study. In conclusion, everyone wants to earn a reward for their labour. A doctor or an engineer should be allowed to practice in any country where better pay and exposure are possible.