Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

Some say that it is a waste of money to maintain public libraries when their functions can be replaced by computer technology. Personally, I do not agree with this statement because of some major reasons which I shall explain in more detail in this essay. On the one hand, it is clear that computer technology has been increasing because of its conveniences. To be exact, it is easy for people to find books, they do not have to travel to libraries to obtain a library card, remember to return books that have been borrowed by them on time. Moreover, computer technology helps raise reading opportunities for people because they can read books anytime they are free and anywhere they want through their own smartphones, laptops, and so on. On the other hand, libraries have been less popular than before but they still play an important role in studying and research. To illustrate, if you are constantly distracted by social media, online games, and much more when you read online books, you will find a professional environment in libraries where there are good conditions for you to concentrate on reading. Moreover, the library is also a great place for people to socialize and make new friends. Therefore, I believe that although computer technology will develop in the future because of its helpfulness, the library still takes on a vital role because of its specialization. In conclusion, I disagree with the view that maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions because of libraries ' benefits which offer readers a specialized atmosphere and where people connect.