Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an aging population outweigh the disadvantages?

Around the globe, individuals now have increased longevity compared to the previous generations. A few people say an elderly populace creates issues for authorities. Whereas others feel that having more older population in society has countless gains. This essay will discuss both points and explain why the merits of having more elderly folks in society will outweigh the demerits. On the one end, having an ageing population of more than a limit could cause various problems for any government. Firstly, most elderly people are dependent on their pension schemes run by the central authority because they have successfully completed their working life. Secondly, once a person gets into his sixties or beyond, there is a high probability of them suffering from any of the lifestyle diseases like diabetes or hypertension, and that may result in overburdening the medical services and could impact the elected leadership's funds. In Japan, for example, most of the population is elderly, and they have to face these issues constantly. On the other end, there are countless gains for any civilization by having more folks in their later years. In other words, the presence of an old person at home could change the attitude of the entire family. For instance, if a family member is struggling with any sort of personal or professional problem, they can directly reach out to their grandparents for guidance, and that may lead to a flawless life for the whole family. Also, retired people have ample time to spend with their grandchildren while their parents are in the office or busy with their working schedule. Hence, a family can feel supported by their elders, and they can focus on their working life. To summarise, by reviewing the above merits, it is evidently proven that having an ageing populace has more unavoidable pros for civilization than cons for governments.