Around the world, rural people are moving to cities and urban areas, so populations in the countryside are decreasing. Is this a positive or negative development?

Around the globe, many rural individuals are shifting toward cities and towns because of that the countryside populace is declining. Many believe it is beneficial for them while others say it could have detrimental effects in the future. This essay will elaborate on why it has more negatives with concrete reasons and examples. Firstly, in recent years, a large number of rural youngsters are likely to leave the countryside to enhance their earning potential and expand their careers. Many bigger cities are already started facing issues like overcrowding. Furthermore, as the population soars in a city more than its capacity, it surely increases the traffic problems, and that leads to unbearable air pollution. Delhi the capital of India, for instance, is struggling with high-intensity of air pollution as a vast majority of people shifting there from rural areas. Thus, it can cause many long-lasting negative impacts on citizens' well-being. Secondly, the rural areas are known for their agricultural diversity. And once the masses started moving downtown, it could hamper farming activities. As a result, it could cause inflation. In the year 2022, because of the war between Ukraine and Russia, for example, made the entire world face high inflation because Ukraine is known for their grains exports, and due to the war, many people left the country, which has hampered overall production. Hence, it leads to a negative development for the entire world to deal with a highly inflationary environment, and it could lead to an unavoidable recession going forward. To conclude, many people believe that shifting a large number of crowds toward metropolitan cities and urban areas could decline the countryside population, and it could have various pros and cons. By reviewing the above scenario, it could evidently be proven that this could have more negatives than positives.