Today, people in many countries can live and work anywhere they choose, because of improved communication technology and transport. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advent of high-speed internet connection and the high reliance of almost all jobs on computers, office workers are advancing the idea of the so-called "remote working". However, not all managers feel the need to abide by these expectations and force such personnel to come to the office. While this new trend indeed possesses numerous benefits, some drawbacks can also be attributed to it. In this essay, I will try to discuss both views based on my own experience as a remote worker and draw a reasonable conclusion based on them. On the one hand, organizations and employees can benefit financially from the removal of communal working spaces. For instance, the cost of buying or renting an office space in the downtown of major metropolises has skyrocketed in the last decade. Therefore, firms will profit if the expenses relating to this issue are avoided. Additionally, their working force will also benefit since the transportation costs of going to and back from work are altogether omitted. Moreover, they can decide their working hours as it is suited to their character. Hence, remote working has several important positive sides to it. On the other hand, the downsides of such phenomena can be grave. First, coordinating meetings and organizing projects that need high contributions between several people can be hard to manage over the Internet. For example, I ran into such obstacles when I was trying to manage my students to write the manuscript of a scientific paper. Subsequently, the aims and deadlines of a project might be missed. Second, the offices are great places to communicate and find friends. If everyone is working from home, the mental well-being of personnel can be compromised due to the lack of communication with peers and being stuck alone at home. To summarise, several contradictory aspects should be considered if remote working is being discussed. The pros of accepting this practice can be but are not limited to, better monetary gains, flexible working hours and so on. While the cons can be the higher difficulty of project management, the threat of losing goals, and the higher risk of depression and mental issues as a result of loneliness. I believe that this trend is here to stay because its benefits outweigh its drawbacks, and we will see more organizations and institutes which are offering a working-from-home option. So, I believe that higher incentives should be given to research into limiting the disadvantages of this modern phenomenon.