In many cities, more people are living alone. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many people in the major cities, particularly in the West, chose to live alone. This essay will present the main reason for this trend and argue that this is an unwise development because of the negative effects on society. Firstly, we see that Western societies, and Eastern societies to a lesser degree, have an increasing emphasis on the individual. Moreover, facilities are available for single people wanting to do anything they want. This individualism makes a person independent of others, leading to an increase in one- person households. The reasons why a person should live with family are replaced by technology and services. For instance, a lone person can video call any family member whenever he or she wants. There is no need for group protection and help, as services and DIY-approach has replaced this. Although a person would feel freer with more opportunities as a single living, I think humans are made to form families. Families are the building blocks of society, and a trend of living alone will ruin society as a whole. Service companies and technology can replace practical issues and help a person living alone. However, feelings and support from family members and friends can not be replaced. To conclude, more and more people are living alone in cities because the rise of the Individualism mindset. This illudes a person to think that he or she is independent and can do whatever he or she desires. However, humans need each other, and family and friends are irreplaceable.