Many people feel that all teenagers should have to do unpaid work during their free time to help the local community and for the benefit of society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often said that adolescents must be encouraged to participate in unpaid social services during their spare time, as this would be beneficial to both themselves and society. From my perspective, I agree with this statement and provide the following reasons. It is obvious that by taking part in voluntary social jobs, younger generations can gain more practical experiences and expand their social circle, which makes a significant contribution to their comprehensive development. For instance, caring for the disabled or preparing meals for the homeless enables young people to enhance their useful life skills. Moreover, in their leisure time, doing unpaid work is considered an efficient method to prevent youngsters from playing portable games or surfing social media sites, which is the root cause of their sedentary lifestyle. Voluntary work plays a crucial role in solving various social problems. Indeed, there are various activities conducted by students that have a positive impact on the ecosystem, taking garbage collection as a salient example. This not only supports the community in handling environmental issues but also raises the awareness of adolescents in protecting their ecology. Moreover, there are several social works, such as looking after patients that need personnel who sometimes demand a high salary, which results in a financial burden to the authorities. Therefore, youngsters are able to handle these tasks free of charge, and the budget can be allocated for more urgent problems. In conclusion, unpaid work by teenagers in their free time can equip them with social skills and make them conscious of social problems. In addition, the community benefits from these jobs by mitigating employment costs.