Thanks to low-cost airlines, many people can travel abroad. What advantages and disadvantages do tourists bring to the countries they visit?

The advanced technology in machines and navigating systems has affected the price of aeroplane tickets. These days, many airlines offer low-cost tickets, and thus; many people can travel anywhere in the globe. There are some benefits as well as negative effects of this massive tourism. One of the most advantageous effects of an increase in visitors for one country would be the economic value. With many local and international tourists coming to visit, it will definitely help to improve the economy of local residents. These tourists will need accommodation, food, transportation and entertainment, which could be provided by the local businesses. In addition, visitors with their various cultural backgrounds may allow for cultural change and diffusion to happen, which may enrich the local culture. Another benefit that foreign tourists may bring is that the local people and even children may learn other languages, especially English, as many tourists at least use English to communicate. However, massive tourism is not without negative effects. As evident in many tourist attractions in Indonesia, many irresponsible visitors left their trash behind and do not try to keep the environment safe. Local authorities should pay more attention to this trash problem as it can be dangerous for our environment in the long term. On top of that, a few visitors seem to not respect the local culture. For example, a few months ago, a video went viral showing two visitors arguing with the local authority as they can not enter areas in Bali where people were doing Nyepi. Nyepi is a religious practice of Balinese where no one is allowed to do any activity except for the Cakalang, which are local people assigned to keep the area safe and soundly. In conclusion, improved economy and cultural diffusion are some of the benefits of tourism, whereas danger to the environment could be one of the downsides of tourism.