Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is true that the most serious environmental problem is a disaster in the modern world. While a number of people consider plants and animals to be the most important to the environment, I would argue that there are more serious problems such as climate change and global warming. On the one hand, it is argued that the loss of species may cause many problems. Firstly, many people think that the loss of animals and plants can cause the lack of food. In fact, if some species of animals become extinct, others may die out too as a consequence of food shortage, leading to the imbalance of the ecosystem. For instance, if there are no worms in the world, some kinds of birds may disappear. Secondly, the disappearance of the plants can affect the air quality since the plants can produce oxygen to help people to breath. Therefore, without plants people may suffer from air pollution. On the other hand, I believe that there are much more important problems. The first problem is that people do not pay much attention to the environment. For example, many people throw rubbish in public areas like rivers or lakes, which leads to heavy pollution. Another reason is that global warming or climate change will imbalance the ecosystem, which will cause the Earth to become hotter and lead to disasters like floods, landslides, etc. As a result, human life and other species will be severely affected. In conclusion, although both views have some validity, it seems to me that there are more important environmental problems than the loss of particular species of plants and animals.