Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

The connections between people have changed drastically because of the advancement of technology. I personally regard this phenomenon as a disastrous trend, which only severs the loving bonds in society. To begin with, the rise of social media is a contributing factor to an increasingly isolated friendship. Influencers use social media to promote their public images and set up an idealistic picture for youngsters to follow and imitate. Instagram users can frequently find their homepage full of photos only to show off glamorous lifestyles. It seems like the confession of being in a terrible condition often constitutes a failure and a shame. In Taiwan, for instance, most netizens reported experiencing anxiety from social media. Under this atmosphere, people are more likely to hide their scars and have little chance to relieve their sadness on the Internet. Furthermore, the convenience of communication breeds contempt, thereby depleting the quality of social activities. It is relatively easier to start up a conversation with instant messaging. For those who have a fast-paced lifestyle might open many chatboxes and proceed with conversations in parallel. Inconsistent response time creates a sense of disrespect and thus causes damage to the relationships. This concept also applies to the workplace. For example, newly-hired employees will be added to companies' chat groups regardless of their willingness. Seldom do supervisors aware of the convenience of communication actually brings extra stress to their employees. In conclusion, though technology brings a perfect platform and efficient ways for people to share their daily lives, I believe the new form of communication has defects. Such as creating misunderstandings in a relationship and sometimes downgrading the quality of socialising. Therefore, the changes and the concerns which are arisen from new technology are something the new adaptors should take into consideration.