Government should spend money on railways rather than roadways. To what extend do you agree or disagree with the statement?

The role of transportation in the development of a country is enormous. However, there are split opinions on which means of transport should receive the maximum funds from the authority. Some opine railways should get higher funding roadways. I completely disagree with this notion. My opinion is explained in detail henceforth. Beyond doubt, roads serve as a prime method of connectivity not only in the cities but also throughout the country. This is because in developing,countries the majority of people use their own vehicles to commute. Besides this, in certain geographical,locations it is not possible to lay railway tracks. Hence, people rely on the network of roads to travel from one place to another. For instance, in the mountain ranges of Leh and Ladakh, it is easier to cut the snow-capped mountains and build roads whereas laying rail lines would be extremely challenging. Moreover, roads can reach the most distant and remote villages where establishing railway connections is practically impossible. This is especially true for villages developed in barren regions like the desert in Rajasthan. Further, the railway network in developing countries is often unreliable. This is because the trains frequently run late either due to technical faults or as a result of water logging. For instance, Mumbai local trains regularly face this issue. Apart from this, for the construction and the maintenance of the streets often the locals are employed which generates income and thus empowers natives. Thus to conclude, we can say that roadways provide enormous benefits from easy accessibility to various remote places to generating employment. Therefore, I totally believe the majority of the government's revenue should be spent on constructing and servicing the roads rather than spending it on railways.