What are the pros and cons for children of watching television?

In recent decades, watching television has become one of the favourite leisure time activities among children. There is an argument that whether spending too much time in front of the television brings advantages to kids or not. In the following essay, I will discuss the positive as well as negative aspects of such a phenomenon in full detail. To begin with, it is widely accepted watching TV has some drawbacks. On top of them, children could either fall behind in their studies or fail their exams as a result of watching their favourite programmes at any cost. This could be troublesome for the simple reason that the students who are deprived of an appropriate education might have to face grave problems in their entire life. Furthermore, driven by the epidemic of violence on the screen, children could be adversely influenced by what they see every day. This is due to the fact that children and adolescents, in general, tend to imitate what they witness at early ages even if it costs pursuing aggressive behaviours. For example, the latest research in England has demonstrated that 50 per cent of kids who spend too much time on TV illustrate more symptoms of violent attitudes in comparison to those who prefer other sorts of pastime activities. On the other hand, watching television could be beneficial in certain aspects. Some informative TV programmes not only tend to entertain kids but also can enhance the awareness of the audience by using significant information in order to broaden the children's horizons. For instance, some historical documentaries and cartoons which are goal-oriented and produced specifically for pupils could represent cultural values, ethical topics and interesting traditions by adapting heroes and fables in their stories. By implementing such innovative methods, children will become more curious about fundamental subjects such as art, history and science. To sum up, it should be noted that television has both pros and cons at the same time. Due to a great number of informative TV shows, it could be quite beneficial provided parents take responsibility in supervising children in watching otherwise it can lead to dire consequences such as missing educational schedule and expressing misbehaviours.