Competitiveness is seen as a positive quality for people to have in many societies today. How does this competitiveness affect individuals? Is it a positive or negative quality?

Being competitive is becoming common among people living in this century. This essay discusses the impact of competitiveness on people and why I believe this is a negative trend. There are two main aspects of how this personality affects individuals. Firstly, being competitive could motivate people to pursue their goals. For example, applying medical school is a highly competitive procedure, and it gives me a strong momentum to overcome any challenge through a stressful atmosphere and makes me willing to challenge myself by achieving the goal out of my competency. Secondly, I believe people will be more aware of their weaknesses in rival situations which can arouse their desire to chase victory. This is because they will find rivals around them are better than themselves, and such comparisons highlight any improvement they need to make, which can help them to stay competitive and be more self-confident. However, despite those two reasons above, I think competitiveness poses negative consequences to both individuals and society. Too much competitiveness can make people more aggressive and unwilling to trust and cooperate with each other. They only focus on themselves and ignore others' feelings because they want to be the best competitor. Furthermore, companies have to raise their requirements for job applications because too many competitive applicants exist. This can result in limited job vacancies and a high unemployment rate since the most outstanding individual is what the company needs. In conclusion, competitiveness can affect individuals to become motivated and gain awareness of their weaknesses. It has negative effects because it can let people be too aggressive and cause pressure on job markets.