some expert believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than at secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, there has been a tremendous increase in the number of individuals questioning studying a second language at primary school. On the one hand, one key benefit is the ability to learn faster. However, a significant drawback is the overwhelming stress a child may suffer. To begin, there is an argument to be made that the younger the children are, the easier for them to absorb new information. For example, in Thailand, the majority of students who attends bilingual schools tend to fluently speak both Thai and English. For this reason, it is evident that people's learning capabilities are more effective at the beginning of their education but become lessened with increasing age. What is more, practice ensures perfection, therefore, an early introduction of such lessons as Math, Science, or even languages would provide opportunities and time for a child to become familiar with the knowledge. This being the case, it can be assumed that if a second language is not included in the primary school curriculum, it would be challenging for students to learn the aforementioned language at the following academic level. Nonetheless, it must be stated that there is no obvious benefit for young individuals to start learning another language. For instance, numerous schools in the UK encourage pupils to spend additional hours playing sports rather than focusing on academic subjects. Therefore, it is clear that improvements in children's physical health and social skills are far more crucial and should be prioritized first. Furthermore, students at this age should not be burdened with undue stress resulting from any expectation teachers may have towards them since it can lead to potential mental concerns such as anxiety or depression. With this in mind, there is no doubt that if a foreign language becomes a mandatory subject in primary schools, it can take a serious toll on youngsters' overall well-being. In conclusion, while some feel that foreign language lessons ought to be conducted at primary school, myself included, hold the view that such classes are unnecessary during that period. From my perspective, the positive outcomes do not outweigh the downsides, as there are numerous milestone developments that must be established before reaching a certain age.