Some scientists believe that studying of 3-year-old children can predict their criminality. To what extent do you think a crime is a product of human nature or is it possible to stop children from growing up to be criminals?

While some believe that human characteristics lead to crime, others argue that it is able to prevent kids/juveniles from becoming criminals. In my opinion, I support the latter point of view. First and foremost, the surrounding environment is a main factor leading to wrongdoing. If a child was born in an environment that is full of crimes, he will find committing crimes normal. Therefore, he will easily become an offender. Additionally, financial burden makes a lot of people break the law. Those who are underprivileged have no other choice but to commit an offence to cover the basic needs of their families. According to experts, approximately 50% of criminals originate from low-status families. Hence, criminals are not the products of human nature. Without a shadow of a doubt, juvenile crimes can be deterred from an early age. One of the reasons is that if children live in a civilized environment, they are less likely to become a person who does illegal actions. Kids tend to mirror adults’ behaviors. If grown-ups perform good actions, children will become decent individuals. The government needs to support the underprivileged more to reduce the poverty rate. That is a reason leading to the decrease in crime rate. For example, Singapore is a developed country with low poverty, which has the lowest number of crimes committed in the world. In conclusion, human nature is not a culprit of wrongdoing, and preventing crimes from an early age is possible. In my opinion, the government should enact more policies that support the poor to mitigate the crime rate.