Your school has decided to save money by having the students do all of the cleaning tasks such as sweeping the halls and washing the windows rather than hiring a person to do them. Do you agree with this policy? Use specific reasons and examples to support your argument.

My first reason is that students can learn useful skills beyond academics if they are required to clean the classrooms and buildings. Of course, students will become better at dusting, sweeping, mopping, and other chores. Some children are not required to do these tasks at home, so they can acquire these skills at school. More importantly, they can learn another essential skill: teamwork. If students have to clean their classroom, they should divide the task equitably. They must practice their social skills while sharing the responsibilities, such as having some students fill buckets of water while others mop. By completing routine tasks together, students learn not just to clean but also to interact efficiently as a group. My second reason for feeling that students ought to do cleaning tasks at school is that they will take better care of the facilities. I will use my school as an example. Because my classmates and I do not clean the rooms, we often drop pencil shavings and eraser fragments on the floor under our desks. If we had to sweep up the mess every day, I'm sure the situation would be different. We would throw away garbage and wipe up spills immediately rather than have a much larger mess to clean up later. We would also take pains to avoid damage that we would have to repair. Ultimately, my classmates and I would take pride in our efforts. We could boast that we have the cleanest classroom in the school. As a result of having to do the work by ourselves, we would keep the building cleaner and cause less damage. In conclusion, it is a great idea for kids to have to complete basic housework tasks like sweeping and scrubbing sinks in their schools. I feel this way because students will gain valuable practical skills and because they will take care of the facilities.