Some people believe that the only purpose for anyone to learn a second language is to travel or work abroad. Other argue that this is not the only purpose why someone needs to learn language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinions.

These days, learning a second language is a mandatory requirement for many aspects of life. Some individuals believe that the main purpose of knowing a new language is to travel around the world or study abroad. While other people have another point of view on this arrangement. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view and draw my personal conclusion. Firstly, a second language can help find better job opportunities. Many companies look for employees who can speak more than one language. As it allows them to reach more customers and work in different markets. This can lead to promotions and higher salaries. In addition, some people believe that knowing a new language has other benefits. For instance, it can improve cognitive skills, as memory and problem-solving abilities. Also practising a new language will be a great brain exercise. On the other hand, learning a second language can be very useful for travel. When people go to a new country, being able to speak that language and communicate with locals, get help, and understand the culture better. This can make their trip more enjoyable and memorable. Moreover, learning a language can also foster greater understanding of culture. This can lead to more acceptance and appreciation of different ways of life, which is important in today’s globalised world. In conclusion, learning a second language is not only for studying abroad or travelling. Because learning English, for example is a mandatory requirement for many purposes in life. The government must ensure steps are taken to encourage people about the importance of learn and developing a new language to improve people ’s lives.