In many countries, formal exams are used to access student’s abilities and to judge the success of their education. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using formal exams to assess students’ abilities ? Do you think the benefits of using formal exams outweigh the drawbacks ?

Educational systems all around the world use formal examinations as a way of testing students' abilities and success rates. Although it instils an unhealthy competitive sense among the students, it also has many benefits as examinations help in expressing our skillset. In my essay below, I will further discuss my opinion. Without examination, students might become lethargic and lose interest to prove their skillset. Moreover, exams increase our creativity skills as we solve tough problems within a limited amount of time, and it teaches us how to handle pressure and difficult questions. Although it may sound fancy that just acquiring knowledge is enough, one needs to express their knowledge and people should be able to quantify it. Hence, it makes sense that examinations are preferred in most countries to access a student’s ability. That being said, some people see exams with a competitive sense and they compare themselves with other people, which creates a sense of pressure to perform well among others. Such behaviours should be avoided because people might go into depression or other disorders when they fail their examinations badly. Hence, people should see examinations as a way of accessing one’s ability for their own development rather than seeing them as achievements. In conclusion, although competitive exams create a lot of insecurity in many people, it is most beneficial for one’s growth and I believe certainly its advantages outweigh the drawbacks. If we see examinations as a natural way of accessing one’s ability and getting rid of the unhealthy competitive sense and insecurities, we can improve our skillset to a greater extent, as, one can always try again and be better, and failures and success are not permanent.