In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

Businesses these days tend to advertise their new products by highlighting the novelty of those products. There are obvious reasons behind this strategy. The market nowadays is overloaded with options. Every other day, new variants of products are being launched. From grocery supermarkets to technology stores, the consumer comes across huge variety, and additions to this existing variety are being made on regular basis. This makes it very difficult for any new product to attract customers’ attention. This is where the role of such kinds of advertising strategies comes in. For any new product that is being introduced in a market already flooded with similar alternatives, it has to have some novelty to it: a certain “newness”, some discrete features that distinguish it from the hoard of already available substitutes and help it gain a consumer base. And this is the advertising “glitch” that businesses hold on to in order to make their newly launched products stand out among the rest, by advertising these as something that was not previously available, or something that caters previously unmet consumer needs/demands. For the most part, this strategy has positive implications for both the consumers and the businesses. While businesses gain from successful launch of new products, customers also benefit from knowing what is new in the market, what new features does a certain product offer, and how could it be of use to them. This helps them make better and informed choices. The only negative aspect that can arise with such strategies is advertising the “novelty” of products just for the sake of it, with no significant new features being offered actually. Also, in this era of branding and advertisement, some people blindly follow the trend of getting the newer and updated versions of every possible article, like gadgets etc.,without having any need or use for it, at all. To conclude, advertising the unique or novel features of newly introduced products by manufacturers is an effective marketing strategy, and is beneficial to both businesses and consumers, at large.